2015 Highlights

2015 was quite a year for me! Here are some of the highlights:

The Red Kite Project

I sold enough signed and numbered A3 limited edition archive quality prints of my Red Kite painting to raise over £1000 for the RSPB and its work with raptors and wildlife crime. This piece of artwork was created to commemorate the sixteen Red Kites (and six Buzzards) that were killed in Ross-shire in early 2014, focussing on the beauty and spirit of these birds and highlighting the problem of wildlife persecution in the UK.

RSPB Forsinard Mural Project

I painted a peatland mural in acrylic on the main wall of the RSPB Forsinard Flows visitor centre in the Flow Country. The mural highlights as much of the iconic flora and fauna of the Flow Country as possible, providing a visual summary and talking point for the visitor centre. The hours I worked on the mural were backed by the Heritage Lottery Fund and through this I raised over £7000 for the Flows to the Future project, an initiative that is restoring the blanket peat bog at the heart of the Flow Country.

Exhibiting at the Hive, talks and workshops

I had a fabulous time exhibiting at both ‘Freedom!’ and ‘Culture Uprising’ via The Hive, as well as giving a number of talks and workshops in the space. It has inspired me to continue to develop as a public speaker and teacher, which I thoroughly enjoy, as well as to show more of my personal artwork and writing to the public. Look forward to more of this from me in 2016!

Colours of Magic

I created a series of illustrations for http://kiamagic.com/ based on colours and various esoteric ideas. It was a very enjoyable project.

Nipples

Oh internet, you do so amuse me! My most popular post last year, on WordPress and across all other social media… was the one about nipples. The reaction to that post was quite unexpected and comical, with a massive spike in views and many (mainly private) messages of agreement and support on the one hand… and a drop in followers on the other! I guess my nipples were just too much for some.

Skye

Near the beginning of last year I went on a wonderful and inspiring trip to Skye. I hope to visit again this year. I would love to see some basking sharks this time!

Books

And finally, a highlight for me was finishing drafts for several books, including Hawk Divine, a book evoking the Egyptian Gods into the modern world. Look forward to seeing it published in 2016!

Thank you for all your support in 2015, look forward to more awesome! xx

Leave a Reply

