Dinner Time

A few weeks ago I was driving home from a trip to the beach and as I approached the house I came to a halt and saw what I thought was a rock on the road. A moment of uncertainty and a closer look revealed it to be a Sparrowhawk feeding on an unfortunate Red-Legged Partridge. Completely unperturbed by me she carried on feasting for about forty minutes before she flew away into the encroaching dusk. As I was on a quiet country road I was able to stay the entire time, enjoying watching her enjoy her meal.

sparrowhawk_sketches_by_janiceduke-d8od5dn

As I write this there are two lovely Red-Legged Partridges gently foraging in the front garden. I’m enjoying watching them enjoying their meal too. I love moments like these.

Leave a Reply

