John Martin at Tate Britain

Wow. I think I’m in love. It happened in the Tate Britain while I was admiring some of the work of the Pre-Raphaelites, I couldn’t help but notice the glorious work at the other end of the hall. John Martin’s paintings were clearly ahead of their time. When I saw them in the flesh I was almost immediately reminded of the epic CGI landscapes and scenes we currently find in modern movies and computer games. Such clear windows into a mythic imagination, what talent! Striking composition, use of colour and contrast combines with a grand feeling of a story unfolding before you in each piece, they could just as easily have been inspired by the Lord of the Rings as the Bible.

I highly recommend going to see them in person, they are sublime.

Leave a Reply

